Hello!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Using 3Dmigoto to remove HUD shaders from dx10/11 games

I was recently introduced to Chiri's 3Dmigoto for changing shaders in dx10/dx11 games the same as what HelixMod allows us to do with dx9 games. 3Dmigoto is still in development but even in it's current state it has a lot of the same features that HelixMod allowed with manipulating shaders in dx9 games. You can find information on the tool and forum on Geforce and GitHub. This wiki post by bo3b is a good place to start if your interested in using the tool.

I'm not very experienced with shaders but went through the task of searching for, finding, and removing the ones that made up the HUD in the Watch_Dogs Madness level and thought I'd share the method used for disabling these and setting up a key toggle.

Finding and marking the HUD shaders
Download the latest release of 3Dmigoto and follow the steps from this wiki page. This will create a ShaderCache folder that it will fill with shaders when the game first loads. This can take awhile, start the process and go make a coffee...finish it, then make another. I found that this would sometimes stall and I would need to force close the game, delete the partial cache it had created and start again. To see it progressing I had the ShaderCache folder open on another monitor where I could see the shader files being created at about one every two seconds depending at what stage the game was loading.

Cycle through the vertex and pixel shaders with the keys below, when you get to one that disables the effect you wan to change or remove then press the marking key. You will hear a beep when the shader has been marked, this will also be copied into the ShaderFixes for you (contrary to notes in the wiki).

vertex shaders - step through with Num1 and Num2, mark with Num3.

Setting up a keybind to toggle/change effects